CHESHIRE EAST COUNCIL

Minutes of a meeting of the **Appeals Sub-Committee** held on Thursday, 13th November, 2014 at Committee Suite 1 & 2, Westfields, Middlewich Road, Sandbach CW11 1HZ

PRESENT

Councillor M J Simon (Chairman)

Councillors C Andrew, I Faseyi and M Sherratt

OFFICERS IN ATTENDANCE

Sarah Baxter-Democratic Services Officer
Maureen Hills-Lawyer and Clerk to the Appeals Sub-Committee
Sarah Tunstall Customer Quality Manager-Cheshire East Transport
(Presenting Officer)

28 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN

RESOLVED:

That Councillor Mrs M Simon be appointed Chairman for the meeting.

29 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received form Councillor M Hardy.

30 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

31 PUBLIC SPEAKING TIME/OPEN SESSION

No members of the public were present.

32 EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

RESOLVED:

That the press and public be excluded from the meeting during consideration of the following item, pursuant to Section 100(A)(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 as amended, on the grounds that it involved the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Paragraphs 1 and 2 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972 and the public interest would not be served in publishing this information.

33 SCHOOL TRANSPORT APPEAL

The Sub-Committee considered one appeal against the decision of the Cheshire East Transport Service not to allow assistant school transport in accordance with the Council's Under 16 School Transport Policy.

The appellants attended the hearing. The Sub-Committee heard the appeal based on the oral and written evidence of the Presenting Officer who detailed the Local Authority's case and the oral and written evidence of the appellant. Members of the Sub Committee asked questions by way of clarification.

The Presenting Officer and the appellants withdrew from the meeting following which the Sub Committee reached its decision.

RESOLVED:

That the Appeal be declined.

The meeting commenced at 2.00 pm and concluded at 2.40 pm

Councillor M J Simon (Chairman)